Prompt Two: The Dish Your Mom Always Cooked You Wished Shed Wouldn’t

Growing up there were not any dishes that I can remember my mom cooking that I wish she would not have at the time. Looking back I can think of a few. My mom is a good cook, but it was not her favorite thing to do.

The two dishes that come to mind are Stouffer’s Spinach Souffle and the Cranberry Jell from a can she used to serve.

I started to cook in college when I grew tired of my friends constantly wanting fast food. I love cooking. It’s good for the soul. When I make something and it comes out good it makes me happy and feel good about myself.

I never liked spinach growing up, but I love it now. A local restaurant has a spinach dish served with onions, tomatoes and mushrooms. I have adapted their recipe and made it my own.

I use either mustard or dry mustard, garlic, tomatoes and onions and then create a well in spinach and add an egg until the yolk is nearly cooked and mix the egg(s) with the rest of the ingredients.

I cannot even believe I didn’t know about how easy it easy it was to make homemade cranberry sauce until I was an adult.

It beyond easy. I boil the cranberries until they pop. I add brown sugar and cook it down until the water evaporates and then add vanilla. I have not done it yet, but I hope to add orange zest and/or orange peels in the future.

The old saying is that if you teach a man to fish he will have food forever. We have become a fast food always on the go society and have gotten away from family dinners and food being a major part of our lives. We know how to eat healthier than ever before yet we eat more processed food than ever before. Cancer and heart disease are higher than they have ever been.

Showing children that a home cooked meal does not have to be difficult and time-consuming. As Whitney Houston said “I believe the children are our future, teach them well and let them lead the way”. Cooking, eating well and being healthy are a big part of this.

Leave a Reply

