Prompt 35: The time you went to bat for Someone, and wished you hadn’t.

I don’t usually regret when I go to bat for Someone. The incidence that comes to mind is shortly after my oldest was born. My mom was having a party for family and relatives to meet my son. She rearranged the schedule so that my sister’s inlaws could be there. The time my mom rescheduled it to meant that my wife’s sister could not make it because she had to work.

I don’t usually regret when I go to bat for Someone. The incidence that comes to mind is shortly after my oldest was born. My mom was having a party for family and relatives to meet my son. She rearranged the schedule so that my sister’s in-laws could be there. The time my mom rescheduled it to meant that my wife’s sister could not make it because she had to work. 

It was more important to my mom for my sister’s in-laws to be there than my son’s own blood relatives, his aunt and cousins. Her comment to me was that “I am not doing that to my daughter. My wife and I were always an after thought to both families with the exception  my mother in law. Everyone else seemed to come first.

My mom wasn’t even going to invite  sister-in-law and her family at first. I stood up for them to be invited and yet my mom invited my sisters in-laws who were not really related to my son.

My wife’s brother-in-law was not working and refused to come. He hid behind that his son who was three had to nap. In reality this was their response to my mom not coming to a similar event three years prior. My wife, children and I would always be caught in the middle between both families. It was the Montague’s and the Capulets centuries later, except our love sadly was not as deep as Romeo and Juliet.

Whenever our children were involved we worked around everyone else’s schedules.

Three years later we were with my sister. Her daughter is ten weeks older than mine.when my niece finished drinking her bottle as a baby my dad said it was time to go even though our daughter wasn’t finished. I told my father my daughter wasn’t finished yet and it didn’t seem to matter.

I said something got a snide commented then got screamed at by my wife and if it was my fault.

Families can be impossible. My best friend from college always preferred friends to family. In many ways he’s right. That’s another post for another time.

2 thoughts on “Prompt 35: The time you went to bat for Someone, and wished you hadn’t.”

Leave a Reply

