Prompt 66: Describe or Imagine the-moment your parents first met.

The story of when my parents first met is an interesting one and different depending on which of my parents you ask.

The story of when my parents first met is an interesting one and different depending on which of my parents you ask.

The daughter of my maternal grandparents married one of my dad’s cousins. Both of my parent’s were at the wedding. My father saw my mom and was smitten, love at first site if you will.

My mom was a trade show model that was accepted at Stanford and my father a collegiate athlete. My dad used the proper channels to get my mom’s phone number. She was still living at home at the time. She was a 19 year old freshman in college. My dad had been out of college for about a year.

That’s the extent of the story. I am not sure what they chose to do on their first date, nor do I know much about the period of their courtship. They traveled a lot once they got married.

The irony is that at their wedding, my mom’s cousin and a friend of my dad’s reconnected at my parents wedding and wound up getting married.

Sadly I am not close with either sets of cousins, although I am friends with some of them on social media.

Leave a Reply

