Prompt 72: Write about the first time you remember using a computer. What were you doing, and what was your experience of it like?

I don’t remember the first time I used a computer specifically. I remember the first era of computers I used.

I don’t remember the first time I used a computer specifically. I remember the first era of computers I used.

My introduction to computers was primarily through the Radio Shack TRS-80 Computers. I primarily used the computers in school. This was an era when floppy disks were used to store all of the information. It would be another 5-10 years before hard drives came about.

The only thing I really remember about my general experience using a computer was that I was fascinated by them. From there I remember using a Commodore 64 and then the Apple II lines. At both home and at school I began using the Apple II, Apple IIe Apple IIc and an Apple II+.

Looking back and thinking about the Apple IIs is that they looked like a typewriter, but were sophisticated on the inside. Being able to use a word processor was a huge step up from the typewriter. No more correction tape, no more backspacing on the typewriter or at worse having to redo an entire page.

These were the computers that preceded the internet. the internet became available to the public. We used an online precursor to the internet called the Source. It had limited reviews of restaurants, the ability to make airline reservations, play games and interact with others. Connection to the Source was via dial-up through a subscription service and by the hour.

It eventually was bought out via CompuServe and AOL. To look back and think about those computers versus what even a cell phone can do now is amazing.

Leave a Reply

