Prompt 85: When you were young, what would you have found if you dug around in your mom’s drawers, in those places she put things she hoped you wouldn’t find. What did you find, since surely you did that…?

My grandfather once told my mom she was square and my mom, in turn, told me to loosen up when I was a teenager.

My grandfather once told my mom she was square and my mom, in turn, told me to loosen up when I was a teenager.

My mom suggested to me to get my ear pierced. It wasn’t for a lack of trying to find what my parents might be hiding. My mom doesn’t really drink, she smoked cigarettes until I was 15, but on the whole, she is pretty much on the straight and narrow.

The only thing I truly remember finding that my mom hid was Payday bars. It’s definitely her favorite Candy Bar. After we were out of the house she had them in plain view in her pantry.

I took a few every so often, but if she came into my house and took something I’d be very upset. Parents hide a lot of things from children, some more than others and vice versa. It’s debatable if this is good or not. How honest with each other do we need to be.

It’s the old age of lying versus not sharing the entire truth. There are some things in life we don’t need to share with everyone except a partner. Hiding something from a spouse or the person we share life with destroys trust and can erode a relationship.

With parents, it’s debatable if trust should be earned or expected. It goes both ways, how much should a parent trust a child and vice versa. I am glad with my mom, the only thing we found her hiding was a candy bar.

 

Leave a Reply

