Prompt 110: What Delighted You as a Child? What Disgusted you. Recreate a Scene with you In It Where you Feel One of These Ways.

Prompt 110: What Delighted You as a Child? Recreate a Scene with you In It Where you Feel One of These Ways.

The things that delighted me as a child were sports and being with my friends. It was more about being with them and enjoy common interests than one specific scene.

It’s hard to figure out a scene to recreate that I felt delighted. Sports in general and being with my friends were more than one specific scene. I can think of a few of these moments.

The first was watching the Major League Baseball All-Star Game with friends that came over. I did this for a few years where my friends would come over to watch the game. We had to stop as the game became the day I left for camp.

I remember all of us celebrating one specific play that was amazing. The play kind of came out of nowhere. I don’t want to get deeper into what the play was. I don’t feel comfortable revealing when that was. It was far more about being with my friends and all of

It was far more about being with my friends and all of us being delighted by the play and being able to enjoy the game together.

Another love of my childhood was hiking. I was fortunate to be able to participate in that frequently throughout my tween and teens years.

Getting to the top of the peak with a group of peers was a major accomplishment. We all worked together to get to the top. When other kids lagged behind we would push them in a constructive way to get to the top.

It delighted me to be in nature and to accomplish things that made me feel good about myself for the time being. Most of my childhood when I would feel delighted it would be for a short time.

I always struggled with self-esteem. Being able to do things that delighted me made me feel good about myself in the short term. The long term was and is a struggle.

 

Leave a Reply

